Jump to content


Welcome to After Silence - A message board and chat room for rape, sexual assault, and sexual abuse survivors.

Welcome to After Silence, a message board and chat room designed to help survivors communicate in the recovery of rape, sexual abuse, sexual assault, and all types of sexual violence.

After Silence has over 30 different forums, ranging from topics created to discuss specific areas of healing and recovery from rape and sexual violence, as well as forums open to general discussions and lighter topics. Because we value the privacy of our members, most of our forums are private, which means that ONLY REGISTERED members have access to them. Please register for a free account to gain full access to the After Silence Online Support Group.

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us at aftersilence.org@gmail.com
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo

Blocking People From Networking Sites


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
No replies to this topic

#1 Lindy

Lindy

    Running Princess

  • Administrator
  • 5,615 posts

Posted 07 May 2009 - 10:26 PM

Facebook

Step 1: Log into your Facebook Account.
Step 2: In your top header, there is a link that reads "Settings". (Right next to LogOut button)
Step 3: In the block person box, enter the person's name you wish to block. This will lead to a list of people with the same name.
Step 4: Find the person you wish to block and click on the link that says, "Block Person".

MySpace

Step 1: Log into your MySpace profile.
Step 2: Go to the person's profile that you wish to block from contacting you.
Step 3: Click on the "Block User" link in their Contact Box. The box should be located underneath their display picture and information (by default) but everyone has the option of making a link anywhere else on their page. A pop-up box should have appeared. Select the OK button.
Step 4: The user has now been blocked from making contact with you. He/She will be able to view your profile unless made private.

Bebo

You can block/un-block a person from contacting you or posting to your profile page by following these steps:
Step 1: Navigate to the profile of the person you wish to block/un-block. You can do this by clicking on their username or photo on your profile.
Step 2: Under their profile photo, click the link ‘Block’.
Step 3: Click the button 'Block This Member' or 'Un-block This Member'.
Your profile does remain visible to users you have blocked although you can stop them viewing your photos by editing individual photo albums.

Twitter

Step 1: Log in to Twitter.
Step 2: Go to the profile page of the person you wish to block.
Step 3: Click Block (under actions panel in the sidebar)
Step 4: Click OKAY to confirm the block. The user will not be notified that he/she has been blocked.

Please, a word of caution that unless your profile is private, a person is still able to view it. On Twitter, you will want to Protect your updates.

To protect your Twitter updates:

Step 1: Log in to Twitter
Step 2: Click Settings
Step 3: Scroll down and check the box next to "Protect my Updates"
Step 4: SAVE your changes.

When you navigate to your home page after protecting your profile, you'll see a notice reminding you that your profile is now protected.

Hope this helps,

Lindy tealribbon.gif