Some browsers are having difficulty with functionality. Please try an alternative browser, if this is happening to you. If you are having connectivity issues beyond this or or need assistance, email us at: aftersilence.moderators@gmail.com! ×

Hiya!

Hi, everyone. I'm a bit nervous about posting...but I was assaulted about a year ago and I still have trouble talking about it, even in therapy. I'm a college student, and I'm going abroad next semester, so the few people (by which I actually mean the three people) I've told will be far away. I'm hoping maybe posting and reading here will provide a bit of support.

On a happier note--I study Spanish and anthropology at a liberal arts school, and I'm a passionate writer and musician. I've always used the arts to manage my anxiety, and they've played a huge part in keeping me sane this past year. But of course sometimes things bubble up... Anyway, I'm looking forward to maybe getting to know some of you. Thank you for reading.

Amaranta

Hello Amaranta,

Welcome to AS. I am sorry about your trauma, but know this is a very supportive site. It is ok to be nervous, everyone is new at one point, and you may not know totally what to expect. Take your time and know that there is never any pressure here. I am glad you do have an outlet for your stresses, as I believe that is important. I wish you well on your healing journey.

Mary

:notalone:

Hello Amaranta and welcome to AS (After Silence) :hi:

Sounds like you've got some wonderful passions and I hope you are having a great time pursuing those!!!

I'm sorry to hear of your assault and it's very normal to have trouble talking about a trauma like that. I hope belonging here will help you get some of the kind support you deserve to help you heal!

If you have any questions or need help with anything I hope you'll feel free to pm (personal message) myself or any of the Newbie Support Team (NST) because that is what we are here for and we will do our best to assist you!