Some browsers are having difficulty with functionality. Please try an alternative browser, if this is happening to you. If you are having connectivity issues beyond this or or need assistance, email us at: aftersilence.moderators@gmail.com! ×

My Mom Just Found Out

Anna18

My mom has not really reacted either. I told her that my uncle was "inappropriate" when I was a child hoping that she would inquire about it but it was as if she wanted to avoid the conversation all together. That hurt.

I can relate to you and I wish you find the healing I too am seeking.

I was assaulted my first semester at college. My previous year in high school I had some issues with a guy not respecting what I want or didn't want. He mostly pushed himself on me but never removed clothing or touched my bare skin, however it left me fairly shaken up giving me panic attacks throughout the rest of the year.

Within the first month or so I started learning about my college's assault policy mostly through other female students who had (unfortunately) learned how the school handled the issues during their assault experience. Since I had been in high school my greatest fear was having to go through that again. However after hearing almost unbelievable stories of such a liberal pro rights college throwing out rape cases or putting rapists on "academic probation" that being barely a slap on the wrist my biggest fear became having that experience a second time over only this time having to see him every day in classes. On a side note, although I was molested in high school it was by a guy a year older who had just graduated who I didn't talk to anymore.