Some browsers are having difficulty with functionality. Please try an alternative browser, if this is happening to you. If you are having connectivity issues beyond this or or need assistance, email us at: aftersilence.moderators@gmail.com! ×

Newbie...looking To Take Back My Life.

pdls06

Hello everyone,

My name is Lauren. I was raped by a coworker several years ago and have been suffering in silence for most of that time. I had thought of him as a mentor and friend, but he betrayed my trust. I have been working with a psychologist for a few months and finally got up the courage to tell her some of what happened. I'm really struggling with talking about the incident because of all the emotions and anxiety that come back to my mind. She said "it's probably going to get worse before it's get better." I know I need to stop denying what happened so I can get better. But, I do blame myself for putting myself in a vulnerable situation. I would appreciate support and suggestions for dealing with the emotions and how to move forward.

Hi. I am in the same process you are - I'm sorry you have reason to be here. It was not your fault. There is no situation you could have been in that would have made it your fault. I hope the psychologist helps you take back your life!