Some browsers are having difficulty with functionality. Please try an alternative browser, if this is happening to you. If you are having connectivity issues beyond this or or need assistance, email us at: aftersilence.moderators@gmail.com! ×

Hello, El Here :)

Hi After Silence Community,

I am a physics student from the UK, and am not actually a victim myself but I guess I'm a supporter in the shape of my girlfriend. We haven't been going out for too long but I'm a very committed person and wish to help support her as best I can. I want to provide the best help for her possible, but I guess her past experiences have impacted our relationship a little and I want to understand the best way I can be a supportive boyfriend.

I think reading your stories and asking questions about how sexual violence effects people will help me to understand her better and improve our relationship and help her to recover from it.

It's a very hectic time for her too as she has just found out of further sexual abuse within her extended family, along with the typical work stressors, so I need to really be my most supportive that I can be.

Thanks and I look forward to interacting with you lovely people,

El

Welcome to AS (After Silence) :hi:

I hope you will find the "secondary survivors" forum to be helpful with what you are going through in supporting your girlfriend. Remember of course that nobody here is an "expert" but we come together as people to support each other, so though none of us can tell you exactly what to do we can tell you what has helped us or worked for us and support you along the way too!

Hi El,