Some browsers are having difficulty with functionality. Please try an alternative browser, if this is happening to you. If you are having connectivity issues beyond this or or need assistance, email us at: aftersilence.moderators@gmail.com! ×

New Here

Hi! I am very new to all this. I've never really introduced myself
on a message board before. I have a lot of self doubt about the
things that I write, say, do, how I look.... yeah pretty much
everything..... so I usually just end up lurking, and only speaking
now and then when something I am passionate about pops up in the
conversation.

I've already posted here, and opened up more in
the short time that I have been here, more than in the last 20 years
with ANYONE but my husband. I figured I better go ahead and make this
kinda big step for me with the introduction :) I do have a few
facebook "friends" that I may type a line or 2 to now and
then. I have also met a few people in online games... the few I have
actually befriended , in the last 8 years I have even withdrawn even
from them. I try to talk to them now and then and ,I do say this
with tears in my eyes... I miss them terribly but I feel powerless
against my anxiety. I have my husband and my amazing kids....
everyone else I have withdrawn from as much as possible.

So as I keep writing, and this is really becoming “my story”...
I'm just going to stop here with my intro and let the rest of the
book that is trying to come out of me do so in another post... or
probably several posts! ;) Thanks so much for just being here and
FINALLY convincing me I am not a freak of nature who just can't get
over anything! I can't express how good it feels!

I am happy you found this place overit. AS is a great place. I found so much comfort and so many friends in here. I actually found a friend in here that I think is saving my life without even knowing. So yes, people are kind and understanding now and slowly you feel less alone.