Some browsers are having difficulty with functionality. Please try an alternative browser, if this is happening to you. If you are having connectivity issues beyond this or or need assistance, email us at: aftersilence.moderators@gmail.com! ×

Where To Start?

I'm very new here. I'm trying to find resources to deal with what I'm going through, and someone suggested this site. I'm excited by the prospect but also a bit overwhelmed, especially by how much is going on and making my way into this community. Where do I start?

A little about me: I'm a college student (in the middle of the toughest exam week I think I'll ever experience, which makes dealing with this no easier). The thing that happened to me is very difficult to tell people who don't know. While a few people do know, most of my friends don't, so I thought something like this could help me. I've started therapy here at school but I go home next week, and my best friend is a wonderful comfort but I know it's difficult for her to understand my problems. I'm a very open person usually, so having an issue I can't easily explain to others is such a difficult experience for me, not to mention actually having to deal with an issue like this.

My user name is "amazon strength" not because it's a quality I currently possess, but the name inspires me to try to be strong. I've needed a lot of strength lately.

Advice on coping and healing is more than welcome. I really hope to become a part of the community I've observed so far on this site.

Hello Amazon Strength

Your Name could relate to this sites name also: Amazon Strength and After Silence. Both are AS!!!

I would like to welcome you to AS and I hope you are able to feel at home here, this site is basically you go into the forums that are about things you want to talk about and then you start typing (and follow the rules of course) it is that easy. I think this is a wounderful site and I hope it is as opening to you as it has been to me, Im sure it will be.