Some browsers are having difficulty with functionality. Please try an alternative browser, if this is happening to you. If you are having connectivity issues beyond this or or need assistance, email us at: aftersilence.moderators@gmail.com! ×

Wanted To Introduce Myself

Iris33

I just wanted to introduce myself because I am new to AS. You all seem very friendly and I am looking forward to talking to everyone but I dont have access to the chat room yet.

I am 21 years old, I work as a carer in a group home and I love drawing, painting etc. I also write poetry.

A bit of background on me.....

I was sexually abused up untill I was about 8 or 9 by an uncle. My sister committed suicide when I was 12, she was nearly 17. I didn't acknowledge my abuse until I was about 16. I was put on anti depressants and saw a psychologist and psychiatrist all in secret from my family. I was very depressed and secluded myself from people. I was anorexic and bullimic and suicidal. Self harm was my only release. I saw the psych for about a year, mainly just around dealing with my sisters death, as she wasn't qualified to address the sexual abuse stuff. I wan't ready to deal with it then anyway. I was on the meds for about 2 years or something, 6months of the time was spent trying to get off of them!! They never worked for me.

And now.....

About 6 months ago, my abuse stuff was brought up again and I have since melted down again. I am seeing another psych and working through the abuse mainly. She wants to put me on meds again but I refused. I am suffering a lot of physical and mental flashbacks. She says I have PTSD and depression. I am struggling with alcohol and self harm as my way of coping. I am trying to use healthy strategies instead like walks on the beach, art, writing etc. Somedays they just dont work.

So anyway, I just wanted to give a brief intro into what I'm ready to share about myself. I look forward to meeting everyone and exploring this site more.