-Nicole-

Greetings, A Newbie Here

7 posts in this topic

I am new to this board and found it after another message board for survivors I belonged to seemingly just dissappeared. Whatever brought me here, I am glad to be here. I can remember the relief I felt when I realized that there were so many other people feeling what I am feeling and going through the same things. I look forward to networking with everyone here and being able to help and be helped.

I was raped about 5 1/2 years ago, although I have blocked the date out. I am trying to reconstruct a lot of the details as part of my healing. I was at a party with friends, and I was 18 years old he was 39 at the time. It was a man I knew who raped me, and someone I have now learned is a sexual predator, he did it to at least one other woman I know in a seemingly sick methodical manner. None of us ever filed a report, none of us admitted what had happened. He is still out there, somewhere, and I bet he is still doing this to young women.

The same year, earlier, I believe I was also raped by a man that I had just started dating. I never considered it rape, but after examining my feelings about the more obvious (to me) later attack, I realized that this first incident also fit the description of date/ acquaintance rape. I have not really acknoledged that one as much, possibly because I went on to have a decent (not really) relationship with the man. But for whatever reasons I am here to heal from all of my attacks.