Some browsers are having difficulty with functionality. Please try an alternative browser, if this is happening to you. If you are having connectivity issues beyond this or or need assistance, email us at: aftersilence.moderators@gmail.com! ×

Follow Me Into My Rabbit Hole

Hello there! I’m Shannonnie, and I’m thankful to be here!

A little about me? I’m married to a great man, a mother of teen boys, and we have fur babies too. I work in food service and enjoy interacting with our customers. I’m an amateur gardener, rookie hula hooper, and enjoy DIY projects. I enjoy photographing nature & life, and I enjoy writing.

I have been recovering from the abuse for 21 years. I recently started searching for online support networks after a total meltdown. During this episode, as I call them, I recognized ways that the trauma is impacting my current life. I realized I need to find others who I can relate to. My husband is ever so supportive, but we both recognize that he can’t quite grasp the emotional turmoil.

I recently started EMDR earlier this year. The pandemic has made this challenging as I could not do therapy for a few months.  I require a neutral space for therapeutic processes, so doing therapy via phone or video was not an option for me.

The diagnosis’ I have received are C-PTSD, Major Depression, Anxiety. Life is a daily battle, but I’ve made it through 100% of my bad days so I would say that is a win.

I’m hopeful that being here will be beneficial.

❤️ ~S

Dear @Shannonnie

I would like to welcome you to After Silence's forums.  We are all here for you and want to support you in any way we can. I know that posting for the first time can be scary.  Please don't worry, though; you will always be given so much support from our lovely community and its members.  You're not alone - we are with you.