Some browsers are having difficulty with functionality. Please try an alternative browser, if this is happening to you. If you are having connectivity issues beyond this or or need assistance, email us at: aftersilence.moderators@gmail.com! ×

Hi, from an overwhelmed newbie.

Hello everyone. 

This is my first time here, or anywhere similar to this, really. I've just come to remember my experience in the past week or so, but everything happened 2.5 years ago. Everything else in my life has come to a complete halt, except perhaps a few games/tv shows when trying to escape. (just in school for now but my summer classes are not going well at all, I am very behind). 

Also recently opened up to my therapist, but got a response I was not expecting and feel even more confused about it all. Looking here to open up and hopefully better understand what happened to me. 

Thank you for creating this space. 

Hi pnut,

Welcome to AfterSilence. I am very sorry for the trauma you experienced 2 1/2 years ago and the struggles you are now facing. It is never right or fair for anyone to hurt you, as they did, and I hope you know you did nothing wrong. You will find tons of support here, as our members are truly a wonderful group.

Trauma can be difficult to process and I know many times we need distractions. I am sorry that your classes are suffering tho and hope they will get better as you go. Confusion is also common with trauma and I am glad that you have a T...she will work with you to make more sense of things. Do know you are safe here...and validated. You can share when and how much you are comfortable with, no pressure. Take your time to look around.

I am glad you decided to join our community and wish you the best as you begin this journey we call healing.

Mary

:youcanheal: 

Hi @pnut