Some browsers are having difficulty with functionality. Please try an alternative browser, if this is happening to you. If you are having connectivity issues beyond this or or need assistance, email us at: aftersilence.moderators@gmail.com! ×

First time post, very new and very scared! X

Maya20

Hi everyone, I am very new to all this and I’m not sure what to say.. apart from this has been a long time many years and now the first time I’m reaching out (through therapy, and now on here). This is a journey like no other and it’s so hard when it’s not like an everyday topic with your mates or family or that you can just shout out for some comfort and people understand. I pretended for so long  to myself that I made it all up. I want to feel like a survivor. I blame myself so much but I’m hoping my journey will take me there. Love to all xxxx 

Edited by Maya20
Want to make sure there is no trigger warning for anyone it’s my first post

Welcome @Maya20 to After Silence.  I’m sorry for what brought you here but I’m happy you are here reaching out for support.  Good job taking this step in your healing process.  You are not alone and what happened to you wasn’t your fault.  You are not to blame.  You didn't make it up and your feelings are valid.  Take your time exploring and post when you are ready.  If you have any questions feel free to message me. 

Hi, @Maya20 - 

Welcome to After Silence!! I'm so sorry for all that you're going through right now. I am so proud of you for reaching out, though! That is such a difficult thing to do so good job for taking those steps. I agree that it's such a difficult thing to deal with because there aren't always people you can talk to. Just know that you can always talk here about anything you need to and we will all be here to listen and support you. 

I want to reiterate what @samantha2009 said - you ARE a survivor! 

If you need anything at all, please feel free to send me a message any time. I'm here whenever you need me! 

Hugs,