Kyrenaeneg

Finding a light at the end of this tunnel

8 posts in this topic

Hi everyone. 

This is my first time doing this and I'm SO excited.  I am an incest rape survivor and I am ready to share my story. I have been in therapy for a year and it's much needed.  The abuse happened from when I was 6 until about 16.  I have held the secret for far too long and I'm ready to interact with people who have been thru the same complications.  

I want to make friends and talk and just be there for one another because going through this alone is hard.  People try to understand but sometimes they just don't get it and they don't get that the reason why I do some things the way I do is because of the abuse I had as a child.  They think it's an excuse but truly it isn't.  It's true and it's valid.  I need someone else to see that. And agree with me on that. 

I hope to find someone or many people who can become friends with me and we can help one another get better and learn different ways to cope with some triggers, or just be the listening understanding ear we all need sometimes! 

I'm sorry for the trauma you've experienced as a child but I'm glad you are getting therapy and that you've found this site. There are a lot of great people and resources to be found here. 

Safe hugs. 

I'm so sorry about what happened with you, and I'm glad you found this site. I joined for the same reason — because I needed to talk with people who understood. You'll find tons of support here.

11 hours ago, Kyrenaeneg said:

Hi everyone. 

This is my first time doing this and I'm SO excited.  I am an incest rape survivor and I am ready to share my story. I have been in therapy for a year and it's much needed.  The abuse happened from when I was 6 until about 16.  I have held the secret for far too long and I'm ready to interact with people who have been thru the same complications.